Dentist and hygienist


Better safe than sorry

In 1844 an American newspaper was indignant that we give so much importance to the care and dental caries prevention has so little of these cavities.

But nothing changes yet!

Only 60 years later, in 1900, that Dr. Hyatt began to develop this idea and in 1911 Dr. Pons, also American, will train his assistants in this field.







Creation of the profession

It will create the terms of hygiene and dental hygiene profession. Irene Newman has been the first to teach patients the need to keep a clean mouth for healthy teeth. The first course for hygienists to open in summer 1913 and from this occupation. Was developed in the world. Next countries have different responsibilities summers distributed to hygienists.

Why not in France?

Only 16% of French say they are informed about dental hygiene. A five French brushing teeth less than once per day. The non-recognition of dental hygienistsis certainly a lot.Contrary to the dentist by asking too much care to spend time, the officer will explain to the patient at length the different techniques of brushing, flossing, etc.. ...
It exists in Israel about 2000 hygienists.

    Their role is preventive::
  • Checking the state of health of the patient
  • Inspection of the condition of mouth (teeth, gums and mucous membranes)
  • Measurement of periodontal pockets
  • Health Education
  • Projecting education in schools, retirement homes etc. ...
  • Laying operations dressing after removal of gum and son of suture
  • Polishing of fillings
  • Fluoride applications and filling cracks in preventive role.
  • Scaling and cleaning of tooth surfaces.
  • X-rays taken.
  • Council in eating habits for the prevention of caries
  • Role of explanation and encouragement to stop smoking

The first visit is the emergence of permanent teeth the patient is convened approximately every 6 months.In some cases (wearing braces, after the implant, or in the case of gum problems) it is Preferable to increase visits.

Why go to the hygienist

Contrary to popular belief it is important to go home early hygienist care to reduce bleeding and clean the gum to perform various fillings and impressions. The result will be significantly improved. Patients who consult regularly with the hygienist will solve the problems of bad breath, improve the aesthetics of his teeth increases its motivation to maintain a clean mouth and healthy.

Hygiène dentaire et hygiéniste


Mieux vaut prévenir que guérir

En 1844 un journal américain s'indigne du fait que l'on accorde tant d'importance aux soins des caries dentaires et si peu a la prévention de ces mêmes caries.

Mais rien ne change encore!

Ce n'est que 60 ans plus tard, en 1900, que le docteur Hyatt commence à développer cette idée et en 1911 le docteur Pons, également américain, va former ses assistantes dans ce domaine.







Création de la profession

Il va créer le terme d'hygiène dentaire et la profession d'hygiéniste. Irène Newman aura été la première à inculquer aux patients la nécessite de conserver une bouche propre pour avoir une dentition saine. Le premier cours pour hygiénistes à étés ouvert en 1913 et depuis cette profession. S’est développée dans le monde entier. Suivant les pays des responsabilités différentes ont étés distribuées aux hygiénistes.

Pourquoi pas en France?

Seulement 16% des Français se disent informes sur l'hygiène dentaire. Un Français sur cinq se brosse les dents moins d'une fois par jour. La non reconnaissance de la profession d'hygiéniste dentaire y est certainement pour beaucoup. Contrairement au dentiste trop sollicite par les soins pour y consacrer du temps, l'hygiéniste expliquera longuement au patient les différentes techniques de brossage, le passage du fil etc.…
Il existe en Israël prés de 2000 hygiénistes.

    Leur rôle est préventif:
  • Vérification de l'état de sante du patient.
  • Inspection de l'etat buccal (dents, gencives et muqueuses)
  • Mesure des poches parodontales
  • Enseignement de l'hygiène.
  • Etude de projet d'enseignement dans les écoles, maisons de retraite etc…
  • Pose de pansement après opérations de gencive et dépose de fils de suture.
  • Polissage d'obturations.
  • Applications de fluor et remplissages des fissures en rôle préventif.
  • Détartrages et nettoyages des surfaces dentaires.
  • Prises de radiographies.
  • Conseil dans les habitudes alimentaires pour la prévention de la carie
  • rôle d'explication et d'encouragement a l'arrêt du tabac.

La première visite a lieu des l'apparition des dents définitives Le patient est convoque environ tous les 6 mois. Dans certains cas (port d'appareil dentaire, après la pose d’implants, ou dans le cas de problèmes de gencives) il est Préférable de multiplier les visites.

Pourquoi passer chez l'hygiéniste

Contrairement aux idées reçues il est important de passer chez l'hygiéniste au début des soins pour diminuer les saignements et assainir la gencive avant d'effectuer les différentes obturations et empreintes. Le résultat en sera nettement amélioré. Le patient qui consultera régulièrement l'hygiéniste résoudra les problèmes de mauvaise haleine, améliorera l'esthétique de ses dents augmentera sa motivation a l'entretien d'une bouche propre et saine.